• YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
webbanner_2_Plus.jpg

第1

全球首创第1含有最高可可黄烷醇成分的天然纯可可粉

100%

100% 纯天然可可粉,无添加剂

8倍

比普通可可粉含有8倍以上的可可黄烷醇含量

100%

100% 无药性成分

全家适用的超级食物

Loving Couple
Pregnant Woman with Mother
Crowd of People with masks
Raising a Hand
Students Walking Home

健康的心脏

可可黄烷醇增加一氧化氮的产生,这有助于放松动脉壁和扩张血管,并通过促进健康的血液流动来支持健康的心脏。

糖尿病 - 第2类型

可可黄烷醇可改善我们体内的胰岛素抵抗并平衡葡萄糖。

抵抗病毒

可可黄烷醇具有高抗氧化和抗炎能力,可改善免疫系统,因此有助于预防病毒。

认知功能和记忆

可可黄烷醇降低与年龄相关的认知功能障碍的风险,提高注意力和大脑记忆力。

现代女性

可可黄烷醇可防止皮肤过早老化,增强能量并加速减肥。

护好心脏
改善您的生活

研究表明可可黄烷醇支持心血管健康,为健康生活奠定基础。

157951704_xl.jpg

可可黄烷醇对人体的好处

Image_Effect.jpg

什么是可可黄烷醇?

黄烷醇是存在于许多超级食品中的天然植物化合物,然而黄烷醇在可可豆中含量最高。

结合均衡饮食和健康生活方式,可可黄烷醇有助于维持血管弹性,增强血液循环。

flavanoid.jpg
Cocoaxtend_logo_sq_web.jpg

1 茶匙 可可黄烷醇 相当于

17 个 XXL 富士蘋果 🍎
 
21 杯紅酒 🍷
 
2 公斤 葡萄🍇
 
2.5 升 綠茶🍵

可可黄烷醇有助于:

icon1.gif

心血管疾病

改善血管弹性,防止血管阻塞,促进血液循环

icon4.gif

阿尔茨海默氏病

恢复大脑血流量,降低患老年痴呆症的风险

icon2.gif

高血压

维持体内一氧化氮的健康水平来调节血压

icon5.gif

认知能力

降低认知功能障碍的风险,增强记忆头脑更清晰

icon3.gif

糖尿病 - 第2类型

提高胰岛素分泌和葡萄糖代谢,平衡血糖水平

icon6.gif

皮肤老化

高抗氧化含量,保护皮肤细胞 免受自由基的伤害,以及防止皮肤过早老化

Hot Chocolate

体验前所未有的

可可的美味

 

一天 2 茶匙

COCOAX'TEND 可可黃烷醇 Plus

引領您走向健康生活!

见证

“妈妈每天早上服用 COCOAX'TEND Cocoa Flavanols Plus。一个月后,血糖下降到 6 格,她的记忆力也明显改善。连医生也对妈妈的进展感到满意,问妈妈是否服用了辅助品。”

Wei Ling

工作女性


可可黃烷醇 Plus

Cocoaxtend_logo_hor_web.jpg

一盒 2 瓶 X 150g (RM118)

WhatsApp Image 2021-05-28 at 16.10.43 (1
  • 观察性研究表明,每天摄入 6 克(1-2 茶匙)的可可黄烷醇与降低患心脏病和死亡的风险之间存有联系,尤其能降低血压和炎症。 [2,3]

 

  • 将 1 至 2 茶匙 COCOAX'TEND Cocoa Flavanols Plus 加入 100ml-120ml 温水或您选择的任何饮料(水温低于 80°C)中,搅拌均匀即可食用。根据个人喜好调整数量或加糖。

  • 建议每天喝两次,早晚各一次,以获得更好的效果。

  • 食用后多喝水。

why_COCOAXTEND_1-B.jpg

此产品已通过可可地平线 Cocoa Horizons 验证。 

可可地平线基金会是一个独立的非营利组织,旨在改善可可种植农民的生活,并帮助建立保护自然界和儿童的独立农业社区。

您每购买一盒,就是在支持可可种植农民。

• 支持 100% 可持续采购的可可 www.cocoahorizons.org

• 帮助建立可持续的可可种植业

• 创建繁荣的可可种植社区

• 消除童工并赋予妇女可可种植权

• 减少森林砍伐和二氧化碳排放

• Cocoa Horizons 正迈向 2025 年达成碳和森林正效益

可可黄烷醇有助于:

心血管疾病

可可黄烷醇增加您身体自然产生的一氧化氮,它有助于放松动脉壁并帮助血管扩张。这对于维持健康的血压和流量至关重要,因为它会在整个身体中输送氧气和营养。

“ 确定和审查了十三个SR,并提供了强有力的证据,证明黑巧克力不会降低血压。 然而,证据显示,血流介导的血管舒张(FMD)增加与血糖和脂质代谢改善相关。 我们的分析表明,含有约100mg表儿茶素的可可制品可以可靠地增加口蹄疫,而可可黄烷醇剂量大约为900mg或以上可能会降低特定个体的血压和/或如果长期食用” [4]

“可可富含优质抗氧化多酚。它们主要包含儿茶素(占总多酚的 29%-38%)、花青素(占总多酚的 4%)和原花青素(占总多酚的 58%-65%)。越来越多的实验和流行病学证据表明,摄入可可多酚可能会降低心血管事件的风险。除了抗氧化特性外,可可多酚还具有降低血压、抗血小板、抗炎、代谢和抗动脉粥样硬化的作用,还可以改善内皮功能。”[5]

Playing Basketball

高血压

可可黄烷醇可以有利地调节和控制血压的激素来改善血压。

“人类研究发现,食用某些含类黄酮的食物与改善内皮功能和降低血压 (BP) 相关。这些结果进一步支持了 (-)-表儿茶素可以调节高血压患者血压的概念通过增加脉管系统中的一氧化氮水平。” [6]

 

“在发表在《年龄》杂志上的研究中,两组 22 名年轻(​​<35 岁)和 20 名年长(50-80 岁)的健康男性饮用含黄烷醇的饮料或不含黄烷醇的对照饮料两次每天持续两周。然后,研究人员测量了黄烷醇对心血管衰老标志的影响,例如动脉僵硬(通过脉搏波速度测量)、血压和血流介导的血管舒张(血管相应地扩张的程度)一氧化氮。他们发现,在研究过程中,消耗黄烷醇的两个年龄组的血管舒张都得到了显着改善(与对照干预相比,年轻组提高了 33%,而年长组提高了 32%)。年龄较大组的收缩压在统计学和临床​​上也比对照组降低了 4 mmHg。” [7]

Checking Blood Pressure

糖尿病 - 第2类型

类黄酮通过调节葡萄糖代谢、肝酶活性和脂质分布来改善糖尿病及其并发症的发病机制。

 

“通过饮食预防 2 型糖尿病 (DMT2) 受到越来越多的关注,可可因其多酚化合物(主要是黄烷醇)已成为重要的潜在化学预防天然药物。可可及其主要的黄烷醇可能有助于预防或延缓糖尿病2 型通过调节 β-胰腺细胞中的胰岛素分泌并靶向胰岛素敏感组织,因为它们的胰岛素样活性或通过调节胰岛素信号传导途径的关键蛋白质。除其他作用外,可可黄烷醇已被证明可增强葡萄糖通过促进葡萄糖转运、抑制葡萄糖产生或改善脂质代谢来摄取。” [8]

 

“糖尿病与谷胱甘肽的减少有关,支持氧化应激在其发病机制中的关键作用。抗氧化食物成分如类黄酮对氧化应激引起的退行性和与年龄相关的疾病具有保护作用。类黄酮如表儿茶素 (EC)构成人类饮食的重要组成部分;它们可以在可可中找到并具有多种生物活性。用 EC 处理的 Ins-1E 细胞显示出被 t-BOOH 破坏的细胞活力和胰岛素分泌的显着恢复,表明分泌和胰岛素的完整性EC处理过的细胞中幸存的机器显着受到保护,免受氧化损伤。” [9]

Man Doing Blood Test

阿尔茨海默氏症

可可黄烷醇减少淀粉样蛋白 β 的寡聚化:对阿尔茨海默病认知改善的影响。

“据报道,富含多酚的饮食可以降低患 AD 的风险。我们的研究结果表明,可可提取物在 AD 中具有多种改善疾病的特性,并为治疗和/或预防措施提供了一种有前景的途径。” [10]

Going or a Walk

认知能力

食用可可黄烷醇可改善老年人以及 5 岁以上的成人和儿童的认知功能、注意力和记忆力。它有助于改善我们体内的血液流动,从而将氧气输送到我们身体的重要器官,尤其是大脑。

“如果参与者事先食用可可黄烷醇,健康成年人的大脑从轻度血管挑战中恢复得更快,并且在复杂测试中表现更好,研究人员在科学报告杂志上报告。在这项研究中,18 名参与者中有 14 人在摄入黄烷醇后看到了这些改善. 总体而言,研究结果表明,接触黄烷醇后血管活动的改善与认知功能的改善有关。” [11]

 

“最近的证据表明,黄烷醇的摄入可能对人类有许多健康益处,包括改善认知活动。这项饮食干预研究提供的证据表明,定期摄入 CF 可以减少一些与年龄相关的认知功能障碍,可能是通过改善胰岛素敏感性。这些数据表明,随着年龄的增长,习惯性摄入黄烷醇可以支持健康的认知功能......” [12]

Remote Learning

皮肤老化

可可黄烷醇富含抗氧化剂,可保护您的皮肤细胞免受自由基的伤害,并防止皮肤过早老化。

“食用膳食抗氧化剂被认为是对抗光老化的好策略。然而,之前研究口服高黄烷醇可可产品对皮肤光老化影响的临床试验结果是相互矛盾的。在适度的情况下光老化的女性,经常食用可可黄烷醇对面部皱纹和弹性有积极影响。补充可可黄烷醇可能有助于预防光老化的进展。” [13]

Woman in Grey Sweater

抵抗病毒

可可黄烷醇含有强大的抗氧化和抗炎活性,可提高免疫系统,因此有助于预防病毒。

“可可含有高浓度的植物化学物质,包括单聚(表儿茶素和儿茶素)和低聚(原花青素)黄烷醇。最近的研究已经确定了可可中黄烷醇的健康促进作用。可可及其植物化学物质具有很强的抗氧化和抗炎活性。 ” [14]

 

“众所周知,黄酮类化合物具有调节抗病毒、抗炎和免疫调节反应的能力,这凸显了它们在 COVID-19 治疗中的潜在重要性。尽管迄今为止发表的利用类黄酮类化合物对抗 COVID-19 的研究结果是有希望的,作为一个整体,关于这个主题的文献主体仍然是局部的,并没有提供足够的证据证明其在 COVID-19 患者中的适用性。然而,目前的深入研究表明,黄酮类化合物作为促进预防或克服 SARS 的天然物质具有巨大潜力。 CoV-2 感染由于其广泛的生物学效应,包括调节炎症过程和免疫反应。由于黄酮类化合物在各种病理中具有广泛的生物学效应,因此假设它们在管理中的有用性也有希望的结果的 COVID-19。根据本次审查中讨论的结果,有益的效果在 COVID-19 中,黄酮类化合物在调节炎症和免疫过程中的作用是可以预期的。” [15]

School Students

运动表现

可可黄烷醇的摄入可以改善血管功能,减少运动引起的氧化应激,并改变运动过程中脂肪和碳水化合物的利用,而不会影响运动表现。 [16]

“九名受过中等训练的男性参与者自愿进行基线 (BL) 测量,包括循环 V̇O(2max) 测试,然后以 80% 的既定气体交换阈值 (GET) 循环 20 分钟,然后立即进行两次- 分钟计时 (TT)。长期补充黄烷醇会导致更高的气体交换阈值 (GET) 和增强的 TT 性能。因此,摄入黄烷醇可降低中等强度运动的氧气消耗,并且可能是短期内有效的增肌助剂-持续中等强度的运动。” [17]

 

“可可及其主要黄烷醇成分表儿茶素具有治疗特性,可以改善下肢外周动脉疾病 (PAD) 患者的肢体灌注并增加小腿肌肉线粒体活性。这些初步结果表明可可对人们步行能力有治疗作用带垫。” [18]

Young Athlete

现已全国售卖

來源:

  1. Press Release – Ministry of Health, Malaysia (2017)

  2. Buijsse B, Feskens EJ, Kok FJ, Kromhout D. Cocoa intake, blood pressure, and cardiovascular mortality: the Zutphen Elderly Study. Arch Intern Med. 2006;166:411-7.

  3. Buijsse B, Weikert C, Drogan D, Bergmann M, Boeing H. Chocolate consumption in relation to blood pressure and risk of cardiovascular disease in German adults. Eur Heart J. 2010;31:1616-23.

  4. Vlachojannis J, Erne P, Zimmermann B, Chrubasik-Hausmann S. The Impact of Cocoa Flavanols on Cardiovascular Health. Phytother Res. 2016 Oct;30(10):1641-1657. doi: 10.1002/ptr.5665. Epub 2016 Jul 1. PMID: 27363823.

  5. Aprotosoaie AC, Miron A, Trifan A, Luca VS, Costache II. The Cardiovascular Effects of Cocoa Polyphenols-An Overview. Diseases. 2016 Dec 17;4(4):39. doi: 10.3390/diseases4040039. PMID: 28933419; PMCID: PMC5456324.

  6. Galleano M, Bernatova I, Puzserova A, Balis P, Sestakova N, Pechanova O, Fraga CG. (-)-Epicatechin reduces blood pressure and improves vasorelaxation in spontaneously hypertensive rats by NO-mediated mechanism. IUBMB Life. 2013 Aug;65(8):710-5. doi: 10.1002/iub.1185. Epub 2013 Jul 11. PMID: 23847022.

  7. University Hospital Düsseldorf. Cocoa flavanols lower blood pressure and increase blood vessel function in healthy people. September 10, 2015.

  8. Martin MÁ, Goya L, Ramos S. Antidiabetic actions of cocoa flavanols. Mol Nutr Food Res. 2016 Aug;60(8):1756-69. doi: 10.1002/mnfr.201500961. Epub 2016 Mar 1. PMID: 26824673.

  9. Martín MÁ, Fernández-Millán E, Ramos S, Bravo L, Goya L. Cocoa flavonoid epicatechin protects pancreatic beta cell viability and function against oxidative stress. Mol Nutr Food Res. 2014 Mar;58(3):447-56. doi: 10.1002/mnfr.201300291. Epub 2013 Oct 1. PMID: 24115486.

  10. Wang J, Varghese M, Ono K, Yamada M, Levine S, Tzavaras N, Gong B, Hurst WJ, Blitzer RD, Pasinetti GM. Cocoa extracts reduce oligomerization of amyloid-β: implications for cognitive improvement in Alzheimer's disease. J Alzheimers Dis. 2014;41(2):643-50. doi: 10.3233/JAD-132231. PMID: 24957018.

  11. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, News Bureau. Cocoa flavanols boost brain oxygenation, cognition in healthy adults. November 24, 2020

  12. Mastroiacovo D, Kwik-Uribe C, Grassi D, Necozione S, Raffaele A, Pistacchio L, Righetti R, Bocale R, Lechiara MC, Marini C, Ferri C, Desideri G. Cocoa flavanol consumption improves cognitive function, blood pressure control, and metabolic profile in elderly subjects: the Cocoa, Cognition, and Aging (CoCoA) Study--a randomized controlled trial. Am J Clin Nutr. 2015 Mar;101(3):538-48. doi: 10.3945/ajcn.114.092189. Epub 2014 Dec 17. PMID: 25733639; PMCID: PMC4340060.

  13. Yoon HS, Kim JR, Park GY, Kim JE, Lee DH, Lee KW, Chung JH. Cocoa Flavanol Supplementation Influences Skin Conditions of Photo-Aged Women: A 24-Week Double-Blind, Randomized, Controlled Trial. J Nutr. 2016 Jan;146(1):46-50. doi: 10.3945/jn.115.217711. Epub 2015 Nov 18. PMID: 26581682.

  14. JiyoungKim, Ki WonLee, Hyong JooLee. Chapter 42 - Cocoa (Theobroma cacao) Seeds and Phytochemicals in Human Health. https://doi.org/10.1016/B978-0-12-375688-6.10042-8

  15. Decroix L, Soares DD, Meeusen R, Heyman E, Tonoli C. Cocoa Flavanol Supplementation and Exercise: A Systematic Review. Sports Med. 2018 Apr;48(4):867-892. doi: 10.1007/s40279-017-0849-1. PMID: 29299877.

  16. McDermott MM, Criqui MH, Domanchuk K, Ferrucci L, Guralnik JM, Kibbe MR, Kosmac K, Kramer CM, Leeuwenburgh C, Li L, Lloyd-Jones D, Peterson CA, Polonsky TS, Stein JH, Sufit R, Van Horn L, Villarreal F, Zhang D, Zhao L, Tian L. Cocoa to Improve Walking Performance in Older People With Peripheral Artery Disease: The COCOA-PAD Pilot Randomized Clinical Trial. Circ Res. 2020 Feb 28;126(5):589-599. doi: 10.1161/CIRCRESAHA.119.315600. Epub 2020 Feb 14. PMID: 32078436; PMCID: PMC7141749.

  17. Patel RK, Brouner J, Spendiff O. Dark chocolate supplementation reduces the oxygen cost of moderate intensity cycling. J Int Soc Sports Nutr. 2015 Dec 15;12:47. doi: 10.1186/s12970-015-0106-7. PMID: 26674253; PMCID: PMC4678700.

• YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
webbanner_2_Plus.jpg

No.1

World No. 1 Cocoa Powder with highest content of Cocoa Flavanols

100%

100% Natural & Pure,
No Additives

8x

8 times more Cocoa Flavanols compared to ordinary cocoa powder

100%

100% Non-Medication Contents

Superfood for Everyone

Loving Couple
Pregnant Woman with Mother
Crowd of People with masks
Raising a Hand
Students Walking Home

HEALTHY HEART

Cocoa Flavanols increases production of Nitric Oxide which helps relax arteries wall and dilation of blood vessels, and support a healthy heart by promoting healthy blood flow.

DIABETES

TYPE 2

Cocoa Flavanols improves insulin resistance in our body and balance the glucose.

ANTI-VIRAL

Cocoa Flavanols has high antioxidant and anti-inflammatory capacities to improve immune system, hence helps in viral prevention.

COGNITIVE & MEMORY

Cocoa Flavanols reduces the risk of age-related cognitive dysfunction, improves concentration and brain memory.

MODERN WOMEN

Cocoa Flavanols prevents premature skin aging, boost energy and accelerating weight loss.  

"Improve Your Heart,
Improve Your Life"

Studies show Cocoa Flavanols supports cardiovascular health that builds the foundation of healthy life.

157951704_xl.jpg

Cocoa Flavanols Effects on Human

Image_Effect.jpg

What is Cocoa Flavanols?

Flavanols, a plant-based nutrient naturally occurring in many superfood, is found with highest content in cacao beans.

With the combination of balance diet and healthy lifestyles, Cocoa Flavanols can help maintain the elasticity of blood vessels, which contributes to normal blood circulation in the human body.

flavanoid.jpg
Cocoaxtend_logo_sq_web.jpg

1 tsp Cocoa Flavanols is equivalent to

17 Extra-large FUJI Apples 🍎

21 glasses of Red Wine 🍷

2 Kilos of Grapes 🍇 

2.5 Litre of Green Tea 🍵

6 Health Benefits of
Cocoa Flavanols

icon1.gif

Cardiovascular Disease

Improves the elasticity of blood vessels and stimulates blood circulation.

icon4.gif

Alzheimer's Disease

Reduces the risk of Alzheimer`s disease.

icon2.gif

Hypertension

Modulates your blood pressure by maintaining healthy amount of Nitric Oxide level in your body.

icon5.gif

Cognitive Ability

Reduces the risk of age-related cognitive dysfunction, improves concentration and brain memory.

icon3.gif

Diabetes Type 2

Improves the Insulin Resistance and Glucose Metabolism in your body.

icon6.gif

Skin Aging

High in antioxidant to protect your skin cells from damage by free radicals and prevent premature skin aging.

Hot Chocolate

Experience the Goodness of Cocoa like never before

 

2 teaspoons of

COCOAX'TEND Cocoa Flavanols Plus

a day lead your way to healthy life!

Testimonials

“​My mother consumed COCOAX'TEND Cocoa Flavanols Plus every morning for one month. Her sugar level has reduced to 6 and her memory has improved much. Even the doctor is impressed by her improvement.”

May Chew

Working Lady

COCOAX'TEND
Cocoa Flavanols Plus

Cocoaxtend_logo_hor_web.jpg

Twinpack with 2 bottles X 150g (RM108)

WhatsApp Image 2021-05-28 at 16.10.43 (1

Observational studies suggest a link between high Cocoa Flavanols intake of 6 grams daily (1-2 tsp) and a reduced risk of heart disease and mortality, possibly in part by reducing blood pressure and inflammation. [2,3]

  • Add 1 to 2 tsp of COCOAX'TEND Cocoa Flavanols Plus into 100ml-120ml of warm water or any beverage of your choice (water temperature below 80°C). Stir well and serve. Adjust amount to personal preference and sweeten as desired.

  • Recommended to drink twice daily, once in the morning and another at night for better results.

  • Drink more water after consumption.

why_COCOAXTEND_1-B.jpg

COCOAX'TEND Cocoa Flavanols Plus is supporting Sustainable Cocoa through Cocoa Horizons Program.

The Cocoa Horizons Foundation is an independent non-profit organization established to improve the prosperity of cocoa farmers, and help build independent agriculture community that protects nature and children.

With every box purchased, a portion goes towards funding the implementation of the productivity and community development activities through Cocoa Horizons. 

• Supporting 100% sustainably sourced cocoa www.cocoahorizons.org

• Helping to create sustainable cocoa farming

• Creating self-driven and self-sustaining cocoa farming communities

• Eradicate child labor and empower women in cocoa farming

• Reduce deforestation and CO2 emissions

• By 2025 Cocoa Horizons is committed to be carbon and forest positive

How Cocoa Flavanols helps in:

Cardiovascular Disease

Cocoa Flavanols increases your body's natural production of Nitric Oxide and it helps relax the arteries wall and assist in blood vessels dilation. This is critical in maintaining healthy blood pressure and flow which carries oxygen and nutrients throughout your whole body.

"Thirteen SRs were identified and reviewed, and provided strong evidence that dark chocolate did not reduce blood pressure. The evidence was however strong for an association with increased flow-mediated vasodilatation (FMD) and moderate for an improvement in blood glucose and lipid metabolism. Our analysis showed that cocoa products with around 100 mg epicatechin can reliably increase FMD, and that cocoa flavanol doses of around 900 mg or above may decrease blood pressure in specific individuals and/or if consumed over longer periods." [4]

"Cocoa is a rich source of high-quality antioxidant polyphenols. They comprise mainly catechins (29%-38% of total polyphenols), anthocyanins (4% of total polyphenols) and proanthocyanidins (58%-65% of total polyphenols). A growing body of experimental and epidemiological evidence highlights that the intake of cocoa polyphenols may reduce the risk of cardiovascular events. Beyond antioxidant properties, cocoa polyphenols exert blood pressure lowering activity, antiplatelet, anti-inflammatory, metabolic and anti-atherosclerotic effects, and also Improve endothelial function."[5]

Playing Basketball

Hypertension

Cocoa Flavanols may improve blood pressure by favorably impacting the hormones that regulate and control blood pressure.

"Studies in humans have found consumption of certain flavanoid-containing foods to be associated with improvement in endothelial function and with reduction of blood pressure (BP). These results give further support to the concept that (-)-epicatechin can modulate BP in hypertension by increasing NO levels in the vasculature." [6]

"In the study published in Age, two groups of 22 young (<35 years of age) and 20 older (50-80 years of age) healthy men consumed either a flavanol-containing drink, or a flavanol-free control drink, twice a day for two weeks. The researchers then measured the effect of flavanols on hallmarks of cardiovascular aging, such as arterial stiffness (as measured by pulse wave velocity), blood pressure and flow-mediated vasodilation (the extent to which blood vessels dilate in response to nitric oxide). They found that vasodilation was significantly improved in both age groups that consumed flavanols over the course of the study (by 33% in the younger age group and 32% in the older age group over the control intervention). In the older age group, a statistically and clinically significant decrease in systolic blood pressure of 4 mmHg over control was also seen." [7]

Checking Blood Pressure

Diabetes Type 2

Flavonoids improve the pathogenesis of diabetes and its complications through the regulation of glucose metabolism, hepatic enzymes activities, and a lipid profile. 

"Prevention of diabetes mellitus type 2 (DMT2) through the diet is receiving a growing interest and cocoa because of its polyphenolic compounds, mainly flavanols, has become an important potential chemopreventive natural agent. Cocoa and its main flavanols might contribute to prevent or delay diabetes mellitus type 2 by modulating insulin secretion in β-pancreatic cells and targeting insulin-sensitive tissues because of their insulin-like activity or through the regulation of key proteins of the insulin signaling route. Among other actions, cocoa flavanols have been proved to enhance glucose uptake through the promotion of glucose transport, to repress glucose production, or to improve lipid metabolism." [8]

"Diabetes mellitus is associated with reductions in glutathione, supporting the critical role of oxidative stress in its pathogenesis. Antioxidant food components such as flavonoids have a protective role against oxidative stress-induced degenerative and age-related diseases. Flavonoids such as epicatechin (EC) constitute an important part of the human diet; they can be found in cocoa and possess multiple biological activities. Ins-1E cells treated with EC showed a remarkable recovery of cell viability and insulin secretion damaged by t-BOOH, indicating that integrity of secreting and surviving machineries in the EC-treated cells was notably protected against the oxidative insult." [9]

Man Doing Blood Test

Alzheimer’s Disease

Cocoa Flavanols reduces oligomerization of amyloid-β: implications for cognitive improvement in Alzheimer's disease.

"Polyphenol-rich diets are reported to reduce the risk for AD. Our findings indicate that cocoa extracts have multiple disease-modifying properties in AD and present a promising route of therapeutic and/or preventative initiatives." [10]

Going or a Walk

Cognitive Ability

Cocoa flavanols consumption improves cognitive function, concentration and memory for the elderlies as well as adults and kids above 5 years old. It helps improve blood flow in our body thus oxygen was carried to our vital organ of our body especially the brain.

"The brains of healthy adults recovered faster from a mild vascular challenge and performed better on complex tests if the participants consumed cocoa flavanols beforehand, researchers report in the journal Scientific Reports. In the study, 14 of 18 participants saw these improvements after ingesting the flavanols. Overall, the findings suggest that the improvements in vascular activity after exposure to flavanols are connected to the improvement in cognitive function." [11]

"Recent evidence has indicated that flavanol consumption may have many health benefits in humans, including improved cognitive activities. This dietary intervention study provides evidence that regular CF consumption can reduce some measures of age-related cognitive dysfunction, possibly through an improvement in insulin sensitivity. These data suggest that the habitual intake of flavanols can support healthy cognitive function with age.." [12]

Remote Learning

Skin Health

Cocoa Flavanols is high in antioxidant to protect your skin cells from damage by free radicals and prevent premature skin aging.

"The consumption of dietary antioxidants is considered to be a good strategy against photo-aging. However, the results of previous clinical trials that investigated the effects of oral consumption of high-flavanol cocoa products on skin photo-aging have been contradictory. In moderately photo-aged women, regular cocoa flavanol consumption had positive effects on facial wrinkles and elasticity. Cocoa flavanol supplementation may contribute to the prevention of the progression of photo-aging. " [13]

Woman in Grey Sweater

Anti-viral

Cocoa Flavanols contains strong antioxidant and anti-inflammatory activity to improve immune system, hence helps in viral prevention.

"Cocoa contains high concentrations of phytochemicals, including momomeric (epicatechin and catechin) and oligomeric (procyanidin) flavanols. Recent research has been identified the health-promoting effects of flavanols in cocoa. Cocoa and its phytochemicals have strong antioxidant and anti-inflammatory activity." [14]

"The well-known capacity of flavonoids to regulate anti-viral, anti-inflammatory, and immunomodulatory responses underscores their potential importance also in the treatment of COVID-19. Although the results of studies utilizing flavonoids against COVID-19 published so far are promising, the body of literature on this topic as a whole remains partial and does not provide sufficient evidence for its applicability in COVID-19 patients. Nevertheless, current intensive research suggests the great potential of flavonoids as natural substances promoting the prevention or overcoming the SARS-CoV-2 infection due to the wide range of their biological effects including the modulation of inflammatory processes and immune responses. Due to the extensive biological effects of flavonoids demonstrated in various pathologies, promising results are hypothesized also in the association of their usefulness in the management of COVID-19. Based on the findings discussed in this review, the beneficial effects of flavonoids in the modulation of inflammatory and immune processes in COVID-19 can be expected." [15]

School Students

Athletic Performance

Cocoa flavanols intake may improve vascular function, reduce exercise-induced oxidative stress, and alter fat and carbohydrate utilization during exercise, without affecting exercise performance. [16]

"Nine moderately-trained male participants volunteered to undertake baseline (BL) measurements that comprised a cycle V̇O(2max) test followed by cycling at 80% of their established gas exchange threshold (GET) for 20-min and then immediately followed by a two-minute time-trial (TT). Chronic supplementation with flavanols resulted in a higher gas exchange threshold (GET) and enhanced TT performance. Consequently, ingestion of flavanols reduced the oxygen cost of moderate intensity exercise and may be an effective ergogenic aid for short-duration moderate intensity exercise." [17]

"Cocoa and its major flavanol component, epicatechin, have therapeutic properties that may improve limb perfusion and increase calf muscle mitochondrial activity in people with lower extremity peripheral artery disease (PAD). These preliminary results suggest a therapeutic effect of cocoa on walking performance in people with PAD. " [18]

Young Athlete

Now Available Nationwide

Source:

  1. Press Release – Ministry of Health, Malaysia (2017)

  2. Buijsse B, Feskens EJ, Kok FJ, Kromhout D. Cocoa intake, blood pressure, and cardiovascular mortality: the Zutphen Elderly Study. Arch Intern Med. 2006;166:411-7.

  3. Buijsse B, Weikert C, Drogan D, Bergmann M, Boeing H. Chocolate consumption in relation to blood pressure and risk of cardiovascular disease in German adults. Eur Heart J. 2010;31:1616-23.

  4. Vlachojannis J, Erne P, Zimmermann B, Chrubasik-Hausmann S. The Impact of Cocoa Flavanols on Cardiovascular Health. Phytother Res. 2016 Oct;30(10):1641-1657. doi: 10.1002/ptr.5665. Epub 2016 Jul 1. PMID: 27363823.

  5. Aprotosoaie AC, Miron A, Trifan A, Luca VS, Costache II. The Cardiovascular Effects of Cocoa Polyphenols-An Overview. Diseases. 2016 Dec 17;4(4):39. doi: 10.3390/diseases4040039. PMID: 28933419; PMCID: PMC5456324.

  6. Galleano M, Bernatova I, Puzserova A, Balis P, Sestakova N, Pechanova O, Fraga CG. (-)-Epicatechin reduces blood pressure and improves vasorelaxation in spontaneously hypertensive rats by NO-mediated mechanism. IUBMB Life. 2013 Aug;65(8):710-5. doi: 10.1002/iub.1185. Epub 2013 Jul 11. PMID: 23847022.

  7. University Hospital Düsseldorf. Cocoa flavanols lower blood pressure and increase blood vessel function in healthy people. September 10, 2015.

  8. Martin MÁ, Goya L, Ramos S. Antidiabetic actions of cocoa flavanols. Mol Nutr Food Res. 2016 Aug;60(8):1756-69. doi: 10.1002/mnfr.201500961. Epub 2016 Mar 1. PMID: 26824673.

  9. Martín MÁ, Fernández-Millán E, Ramos S, Bravo L, Goya L. Cocoa flavonoid epicatechin protects pancreatic beta cell viability and function against oxidative stress. Mol Nutr Food Res. 2014 Mar;58(3):447-56. doi: 10.1002/mnfr.201300291. Epub 2013 Oct 1. PMID: 24115486.

  10. Wang J, Varghese M, Ono K, Yamada M, Levine S, Tzavaras N, Gong B, Hurst WJ, Blitzer RD, Pasinetti GM. Cocoa extracts reduce oligomerization of amyloid-β: implications for cognitive improvement in Alzheimer's disease. J Alzheimers Dis. 2014;41(2):643-50. doi: 10.3233/JAD-132231. PMID: 24957018.

  11. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, News Bureau. Cocoa flavanols boost brain oxygenation, cognition in healthy adults. November 24, 2020

  12. Mastroiacovo D, Kwik-Uribe C, Grassi D, Necozione S, Raffaele A, Pistacchio L, Righetti R, Bocale R, Lechiara MC, Marini C, Ferri C, Desideri G. Cocoa flavanol consumption improves cognitive function, blood pressure control, and metabolic profile in elderly subjects: the Cocoa, Cognition, and Aging (CoCoA) Study--a randomized controlled trial. Am J Clin Nutr. 2015 Mar;101(3):538-48. doi: 10.3945/ajcn.114.092189. Epub 2014 Dec 17. PMID: 25733639; PMCID: PMC4340060.

  13. Yoon HS, Kim JR, Park GY, Kim JE, Lee DH, Lee KW, Chung JH. Cocoa Flavanol Supplementation Influences Skin Conditions of Photo-Aged Women: A 24-Week Double-Blind, Randomized, Controlled Trial. J Nutr. 2016 Jan;146(1):46-50. doi: 10.3945/jn.115.217711. Epub 2015 Nov 18. PMID: 26581682.

  14. JiyoungKim, Ki WonLee, Hyong JooLee. Chapter 42 - Cocoa (Theobroma cacao) Seeds and Phytochemicals in Human Health. https://doi.org/10.1016/B978-0-12-375688-6.10042-8

  15. Alena Liskova, Marek Samec, Lenka Koklesova, Samson M. Samuel, Kevin Zhai, Raghad Khalid Al-Ishaq, Mariam Abotaleb, Vladimir Nosal, Karol Kajo, Milad Ashrafizadeh, Ali Zarrabi, Aranka Brockmueller, Mehdi Shakibaei, Peter Sabaka, Ioana Mozos, David Ullrich, Robert Prosecky, Giampiero La Rocca, Martin Caprnda, Dietrich Büsselberg, Luis Rodrigo, Peter Kruzliak, Peter Kubatka,
    Flavonoids against the SARS-CoV-2 induced inflammatory storm,
    Biomedicine & Pharmacotherapy, Volume 138, 2021, 111430, ISSN 0753-3322,https://doi.org/10.1016/j.biopha.2021.111430. (https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0753332221002158) Keywords: SARS-CoV-2; COVID-19; Inflammation; Cytokine storm; Phytochemicals; Flavonoids; Immunomodulation; Anti-inflammatory effects

  16. Decroix L, Soares DD, Meeusen R, Heyman E, Tonoli C. Cocoa Flavanol Supplementation and Exercise: A Systematic Review. Sports Med. 2018 Apr;48(4):867-892. doi: 10.1007/s40279-017-0849-1. PMID: 29299877.

  17. McDermott MM, Criqui MH, Domanchuk K, Ferrucci L, Guralnik JM, Kibbe MR, Kosmac K, Kramer CM, Leeuwenburgh C, Li L, Lloyd-Jones D, Peterson CA, Polonsky TS, Stein JH, Sufit R, Van Horn L, Villarreal F, Zhang D, Zhao L, Tian L. Cocoa to Improve Walking Performance in Older People With Peripheral Artery Disease: The COCOA-PAD Pilot Randomized Clinical Trial. Circ Res. 2020 Feb 28;126(5):589-599. doi: 10.1161/CIRCRESAHA.119.315600. Epub 2020 Feb 14. PMID: 32078436; PMCID: PMC7141749.

  18. Patel RK, Brouner J, Spendiff O. Dark chocolate supplementation reduces the oxygen cost of moderate intensity cycling. J Int Soc Sports Nutr. 2015 Dec 15;12:47. doi: 10.1186/s12970-015-0106-7. PMID: 26674253; PMCID: PMC4678700.